Saturday, October 15, 2011

Centers, Subtypes, and More Information

So...Did you take the test?  What is your enneagram number??  Today Mrs. A Rodgers has more information for you!



Type 1: The Perfectionist (Principled, perfectionistic, moral)
Type 2: The Giver (Self-sacrificing, people-oriented, expressive)
Type 3: The Achiever (Efficient, task-oriented, image conscious) 
Type 4: The Symbol Maker (Creative, temperamental, compassionate)
Type 5: The Observer (Withdrawn, knowledge-seeking, wise)
Type 6: The Loyalist (Trustworthy, anxious, faithful)
Type 7: The Enthusiast (Active, spirited, optimistic)
Type 8: The Challenger (Direct, controlling, justice-seeking)
Type 9: The Peacemaker (Laid back, loving, non-confrontational)


The Enneagram types are divided into three centers. Types 2, 3 and 4 make up the "heart center," types 5, 6 and 7 make up the "head center," and types 8, 9 and 1 make up the "gut center."

Heart people are people who, at the end of the day, make decisions based on emotion. Heart people tend to care about who they are with and they are prone to feel social shame. They walk into a room and notice the people.

Head people are people who, at the end of the day, make decisions based on logic. Head people tend to care about activity and their to-do list and they are prone to feel fear. They walk into a room and notice the objects in the room or tasks to be done.

Gut people are people who, at the end of the day, make decisions based on instinct. Gut people tend to care about their physical comfort and they are prone to feel anger. They walk into a room and notice the temperature, food if they are hungry and chairs if they are tired.

3s, 6s and 9s are the most prone to appearing like they do not belong in their center as 3s hide their emotions behind logic and a drive to succeed, 6s are willing to ignore their task orientation out of loyalty to their friends/family's wishes, and 9s bury their anger to maintain peace.


There are three subtypes for each type: social, intimate/sexual, and self preserving.

Social: The social subtype is more likely to move towards other people and be compliant than the other subtypes. This type will strongly express the characteristics of their type that relate to interactions with others Example: I am a social Four. I experience deep social shame and express empathy frequently.

Intimate: The intimate/sexual subtype is more likely to be assertive and go against others. A one-on-one Four is more likely to be fiercely competitive in relationships than other fours.

Self Preserving: The self preserving subtype is more likely to withdraw away from others. They will embrace and protect the characteristics of their type that are related to their identity. Self preserving Fours become very defensive when others intrude on their unique identity.

While all of these are true of most Fours, there tend to be certain traits that a Four will identify with more. The same is true of all types. When reading a description, you may nod you head and say "yes! that is me!" to the description, but the sentence or two that seems to stab you in the heart may be a clue to your subtype.

To learn more about each subtype for your specific type, click here:


Everyone's personality takes on different forms in different stages of life. Each Enneagram Type has 9 stages of maturity in which different traits are more or less apparent in that persons behavior and in which the persons motivation is more positive or negative. To learn about these levels, visit and click the type you are interested in learning about.


This was touched on in each type description. The lines in the Enneagram between each type show the directions of integration (growth) and disintegration (stress/lack of support) for each type. Withdrawn types (9, 4 and 5) tend to integrate towards more assertive types (8, 3, and 1/7), assertive types to compliant types (2, 6, and 1/7) and compliant to withdrawn.

*1s and 7s often show both assertive and compliant traits frequently. 7s are more often typed as assertive and 1s as compliant, but when 4s grow to a 1 they often become more assertive and when 1s grow to a 7 they often become more compliant.


Thanks for reading! If you have specific questions, feel free to comment below. For more information, I would recommend the following books/websites:


The Enneagram: A Christian Perspective
The Enneagram in Love and Work

1 comment:

  1. BlueHost is definitely one of the best hosting provider for any hosting plans you might need.